Ald Lang Syne

2016. This year was quite a beast. There were lots of great moments, and lots of terrible ones. Mostly for myself, I’m compiling a list of momentous things that happened in 2016 and a list of things I want to happen in 2017. Not binding myself to them, but reminding myself of who I want to be and where I want to be this upcoming year. I’m not constricting myself to any sort of time frame; I simply want to have a plan for how I want to live my life this year.

2016

  • I taught a high-school English class for the first time.
  • I started writing poetry.
  • My dog died.
  • I wrote and defended my senior symposium.
  • I was a youth intern for the second time.
  • I had a Christmas party with my friend group.
  • I found a good church home.
  • My Granddad died.
  • I presented poems at a conference.
  • I took a class that changed my life.
  • I got Netflix.
  • I went to therapy for the first time.
  • I discovered Hamilton.
  • I made it through the most difficult season of life thus far.
  • I got to work in the English department.
  • I read so many books.

2017

  • I want to become a teacher.
  • I want to live on my own.
  • I want to travel.
  • Read more.
  • Listen more, talk less.
  • Apologize less.
  • Learn to grieve in a healthy way.
  • Tell people how I really feel.
Leave a Reply

