4.13.16

Today a boy came up to me,

empty collar and leash in hand.

His trembling voice asked if I could help.

He just wanted his dog back.

His dog came charging around the corner,

a spunky girl, out of nowhere.

I knelt down and pet her,

let her sniff my arm as the boy

snapped the collar around her.

Sniffling, the boy said,

“Thank you.”

I could have cried.

I know how scary it is when you think

your best friend is gone forever.

But we got her back,

so today is a good day.

Leave a Reply

